My First Program!

IMG_1376

Last week my supervisor, the Youth Librarian at our public library, allowed me to lead my “own” program!  It was small, just a small craft, and we didn’t publicize it much, but it was “mine”.

In alignment with our Summer Reading Program theme “A Universe of Stories”, we painted the backs of clear-flat marbles with nail-polish to create “galaxy gems” and then glued magnets on the back to make them useful.

Aubrey (my supervisor) “bribed” the teenagers to leave the computer/gaming room to come out and try my craft with snacks.  Many of them tried it, and most seemed pleased enough with the outcome to take their magnet home.  One boy around 10, and the three girls seemed to especially enjoy it. In fact, the moms of two of the girls joined in, and painted their nails while they were at it–sparking the idea of a “Spa Day” program for the future.

We got about 14 participants, about 2/3 of the teens there that day, and used up all of my 40 marbles.  In the future I would try to buy more marbles, expecting participants to want to make several instead of the single gem per person I had envisioned.  I’d also plan a more dedicated space for the gems to dry (with name-tags) before we glue the magnets.  But overall I was pleased.

The library manager stopped by and seemed impressed by the product.

Aubrey has already given me the go-ahead to do another program at the beginning of July! I appreciate her support of my “professional development”.

Leave a comment